James Frey DANCEPARTY!!!!


So this James Frey thing. I feel compelled to respond to it in some way, since I am a) a writer, and b) the kind of writer who’s very upfront about the fact that this is a polite, socially acceptable way of saying that what I really am is a liar. What makes me feel icky about James Frey is that he adamantly sold himself as that most elusive sub-breed of writers: the liar who tells the truth. I don’t dispute the idea that memoirs are personal, subjective, and more a record of remembered experiences than verifiable, factual accounts, but Frey nullified any get-out-of-jail-free qualifications when he insisted that everything in his gruelingly graphic addiction memoir was 100% true. Everything I would/could/should say about this has already been said with varying degrees of eloquency, like, EVERYWHERE, though I’m quite partial to Slate and Gawker’s philosophical smackdowns. To wit: it matters because Frey promotes a possibly dangerous method of (non)treatment for a serious disease (Frey and Tom Cruise are clearly taking the same crazy pills–oh wait, or not); and it matters because Frey duped Oprah, and Oprah makes the publishing industry’s pulse beat a little faster, and you don’t want to piss off a lady like that, Jonathan Franzen. I have to say I was disappointed that O let the whole thing go so easily; I would have stayed home from work to watch the episode where Frey and Oprah go mano a Oprah in the Thunderdome, and Oprah triumphantly swings Frey around by the hair on his curly head.

But since we can’t have that, let’s have the next best thing: JAMES FREY DANCEPARTY!

That’s right, this is DJ Katerac-a-lackin’, and I’m going to spin the beats and rock the tunes that get you moving, in honor of the It (Not so) Bad Boy of the moment! What better way to celebrate the fuzzy lines between fact, fiction, and addiction than with

Cake, “Tougher Than It Is”

Well there is no such thing as you
It doesn’t matter what you do
The more you try to qualify
The more it all will pass you by
Some people like to make life a little tougher than it is

Eurythmics, “Would I Lie to You?”

Depeche Mode, “The Policy of Truth”

Now you’re standing there tongue-tied
You’d better learn your lesson well
Hide what you have to hide
And tell what you have to tell

You’ll see your problems multiplied
If you continually decide
To faithfully pursue
The policy of truth

Flaming Lips, “Ego Tripping at the Gate of Hell”

Fleetwood Mac, “Little Lies”

Tell me lies
Tell me sweet little lies
(Tell me lies, tell me, tell me lies)
Oh no, no, you can’t disguise
(You can’t disguise, no you can’t disguise)

(Clearly, Lindsey Buckingham is Frey’s style icon.)

and no DANCEPARTY!!! is complete without

Duran Duran, “Electric Barbarella”

Majordomo plasticomo Barbarellaaaa
My pretty pretty pretty pretty pretty pretty pretty Barbarellllaaaa

Aww yeah, we’re just gettin’ started! ::sound of thumping bass::

Tags:

One Response to “James Frey DANCEPARTY!!!!”

  1. J Says:

    Hehehehehehe! I can’t decide what I like better: the scary clown merry-go-round cake, or the idea of this so-called DANCEPARTY showing up on a commercial advertising a CD for the brokenhearted. I bet you could purchase this amazing mix of 70s, 80s, and 90s classics for the low, low price of 14.95 plus shipping and handling. Can we call it “When He Lies”?

Leave a Reply

